What’s there to do in Hong Kong other than eat, shop, eat, shop?



1. Go Central

Central is one of my favourite places in Hong Kong. There is an abundance of shopping and food (see here for my Hong Kong food guide). Walk along the main road and H&M, Coach, Giordano awaits you; Enter The Landmark and all the big brand names are there.

What I love about going to Central is,… wearing my super casual, comfortable flats and looking stylish and sitting down silently gloating at the worker bees that traipses alone Central. If you go during Winter, they will all look the same with their black coats. No kidding.

I don’t mean to be rude but there’s a certain unspeakable happiness of seeing the hurried, frenzied workers while you lounge back luxuriously. I’m not laughing at them but simply forgetting my own misery at work and just …, living for the moment. Appreciating the luxury of time and being thankful that I am in a holiday while the rest of the world braces for their wars.

2. Dim Sum and Cha Chan Teng

Again, see here for Dim Sum  and Cha Chan Teng recommendations. (Hey! I could’ve cheated and separated these as 2 points!)

3. Victoria Peak

Yup, very common tip but on a clear, sunny day, nothing beats the view from The Peak. Take the tram from the railway near the Central MTR. By the way, if the day is cloudy, forget going up, I believe you are just wasting your time.

4. Ocean World or Disneyland

I think going to two amusement parks is an overkill, even for kids. So, choose one. Both will ensure you have a fun time although, I’d choose Ocean World just for its authenticity. I just can’t get over hearing Mickey Mouse in Cantonese. Just sayin’.

5. Go Hiking
After the wild night out, hiking is the perfect way to get rid of that hangover. Essortment says “Aberdeen Country Park, for example, is a good place for a leisurely walk with children. It has an information center detailing the flora and fauna that can be found in its grounds. Pat Sing Leng Park in the New Territories, has much more challenging walks that take you through a mountain range fringing the city.”

6. Star Ferry

Take the route from Tsim Sha Tsui on the Kowloon side to Central on Hong Kong Island. Great inexpensive experience. Try to catch it at around 8 pm for the Symphony of Lights show. A good way to get out of the claustrophobic streets too.

7. Shopping
Shop till you drop. Popular clusters include Central, Mongkok and Tsim Tsa Tsui. Recommended shops: I.T, CitySuper, Goods Of Desire (G.O.D), H&M (but of course!).

Also, if you are adventurous, Soho has cool, niche shops with great decor. Prices are on the high side but hey, you don’t have to buy anything!

8. Traipse around Temple Street Night Market or Mongkok-Jordan-Yau Ma Tei
Watch the nightlife of HK come alives in the markets. Incessant noise, bright gaudy lights, crowded streets with peddling hawkers, prostitutes and food places, perfect way to view Hong Kong.

9. IFC Mall Rooftop
A client brought me there for a posh meal, I fell in love with the view. Now, you are going to fall in love with me for giving you one of the most inexpensive tips to enjoy Hong Kong. Sit on the chairs or decks on the rooftop which the restaurant operators have no control of.

Go to CitySuper (a fantastic supermarket, by the way!) and grab some food to go, snacks and drinks. Go to the rooftop and enjoy the view while lounge music from the restaurants luxuriates you. Boys, your girlfriends will be impressed.

10. Lan Kwai Fong
What’s a trip in Hong Kong without drinking it out? Lan Kwai Fong has many bars, mostly peppered with expatriates but don’t be intimidated. Get into one and see how the night pans out.

Recommended bars and clubs:
Dragon-I, Volar, Dublin Jacks, Joe Bananas, Mes Amis, Dusk till Dawn.

xx

There are more than these 10 things to do, like go to temples, take a trip to Lantau Island and as such. I am not a fan but you can always try and let me know your experience!

P.S: If you enjoy this list, do mention this in your blog. Also, do not copy and take them as your own. I painstakingly took days to write this, so please respect my efforts. Thanks! :D

( All images courtesy of Time, Essortment, wikipedia)

