Did you catch the Oscar yesterday? I love the movies and I appreciate talents being rewarded but *confession* more often than not, I am more interested in checking out who wear what and how. Looking at the magnificent dresses that were paraded yesterday, I felt that this year’s Oscar was one of the best-dressed in history.

My favourites.

Zoe Saldana is a vision of perfection in her purple Givenchy by Riccardo Tisci gown. Perfect sequin bodice, ombre colour and dramatic hemline. This gown might drown some actresses but Zoe’s fashion bravado paid off tremendously. I suppose this is a love-it-or-hate-it dress, what’s your take?


White can be a tricky colour to carry off but when you’re the “Greatest Living Actress Alive”, it should be a breeze. Meryl Streep doesn’t usually dress up for awards ceremony, so it’s good to see her looking so young and fresh. This dress was designed by a Project Runway contestant no less! Chris March, note the name fashion bunnies!

Biggest endorsement after Michelle Obama’s Jason Wu inauguration gown, no?


Despite her leading lady status, I’m stuck with the thought of Sandra Bullock as the ugly, clumsy girl a la Miss Congeniality.Come to think of it, her earlier movies are quite forgettable. In recent years, she had a career makeover and the work paid off, with her bagging an Oscar for Best Actress 2010.

Her wardrobe choices improved tremendously too. I don’t remember a time when she ever wow-ed me but when I saw her in this Marchesa gown, my jaws dropped. Lace neckline which extends to her waist and light metallic colour that doesn’t wash her out, how very perfect. Her side-swept hair, simple earrings and pink lips were perfect styling choices too.

(Although her gown does resemble an ice-skating costume!)


I love blush pink, so it comes as no surprise that I absolutely adore Anna Kendrick. The hairstyle, the silver clutch and the lace peeking out of the hemline, I love!


Kate Winslet can be boring for some, she tends to stick to black dresses. Granted, she has an amazing figure but she needs to mix things up. Boy, am I glad she wore this silver Atelier Yves Saint Laurent by Stefano Pilati bustier gown that perfectly accentuate her famous curves. Sure, she is not groundbreaking but who cares when you look this awesome?


Every award ceremony needs a princess gown. A gown you imagine Disney princesses in or a gown you fantasise about. Amanda Seyfried and Jennifer Lopez gave us exactly that with their almost similar Armani Privé Spring 2010 dresses. Strapless dresses with fitted bodice, exaggerated train and shimmers that glittered as they strut down the red carpet

Some said that Jennifer shouldn’t have worn the pale pink as it makes her hips look big but I think she looks great. I hate her hair though. Amanda, on the other hand, looks every inch the Hollywood royalty with her light blue dress.



Prints don’t usually appear on the red carpet so it was refreshing to see both Rachel McAdams and Maggie Gyllenhaal in very different prints . Rachel usually wear fantasy dresses or a more demure, ladylike concoction and is usually very made-up and has a overly serious expression. But on this occasion, she looks radiant and relaxed in her watercolour-like print Elie Saab Spring 2010 gown.


Maggie Gyllenhaal is not someone I’d think of when it comes to fashion but she glowed in Dries Van Noten . What I truly liked is how there is always something different and in this occasion, the risk paid off.

Can’t Decide

Although I have no idea who she is, Vera Farmiga’s Marchesa gown deserves our attention. It’s literally begging for it. Do you love it or hate it? I am undecided. I love the colour on her and the lipstick is complementary. But she seems overwhelmed in such a big gress and I think someone with more presence will carry this look better. What do you think?


These ladies are my top choices for 2010 Oscar,what are yours? Will get down to writing the worst dressed! 🙂

Special Mention

WHOA! Have you seen Tina Fey this glamorous and pretty? She blew me away. She is not your typical glamourpuss, she is the funny girl you hardly notice. Yesterday, however, she shone so bright in her one-shouldered Michael Kors gown, I almost forget her previous faux pas.

(Picture credit: Culturemap, Zimbia.com)

